RECEIVED

Nov 22 11 40 PH '71

OFFICE OF SECRETARY OF STATE STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA

WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE

SECOND EXTRAORDINARY SESSION, 1971

ENROLLED

Committee Substitute

HOUSE BILL No.

Originating in the House Committee (By Mr. on Redistricting)

PASSED November 4, 1971

In Effect From Passage



THEO IN THE OFFICE JOHN B. EOCKEPPLIES, IN SECRETARY OF STATE

11-22-71

ENROLLED

COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE

FOR

House Bill No. 1

(Originating in the House Committee on Redistricting)

[Passed November 4, 1971; in effect from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact section two, article two, chapter one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended; and to further amend said article by adding thereto a new section, designated section two-a, all relating to the composition of the House of Delegates and legislative findings.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That section two, article two, chapter one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, be amended and reenacted; and that said article be further amended by adding thereto a new section, designated section two-a, all to read as follows:

ARTICLE 2. APPORTIONMENT OF REPRESENTATION.

§1-2-2. Apportionment of membership of House of Delegates.

- 1 The House of Delegates shall consist of one hundred
- 2 members, who shall be apportioned as follows:
- 3 The counties of Berkeley and Morgan shall form the
- 4 first delegate district and elect three delegates.
- 5 The counties of Grant and Tucker shall form the second
- 6 delegate district and elect one delegate.
- 7 The counties of Hardy and Pendleton shall form the
- 8 third delegate district and elect one delegate.
- 9 The counties of Pocahontas and Greenbrier shall form
- 10 the fourth delegate district and elect two delegates.
- 11 The counties of Pleasants and Tyler shall form the
- 12 fifth delegate district and elect one delegate.
- 13 The counties of Doddridge and Ritchie shall form the
- 14 sixth delegate district and elect one delegate.
- 15 The counties of Calhoun, Gilmer and Wirt shall form
- 16 the seventh delegate district and elect one delegate.
- 17 The counties of Clay and Nicholas shall form the eighth
- 18 delegate district and elect two delegates.
- 19 The counties of Randolph and Webster shall form the
- 20 ninth delegate district and elect two delegates.

- 3 [Enr. Com. Sub. for H. B. No. 1
- 21 The counties of Barbour, Boone, Braxton, Hampshire,
- 22 Jackson, Jefferson, Lewis, Lincoln, Mason, Mineral, Mon-
- 23 roe, Preston, Roane, Summers, Taylor, Upshur and Wetzel
- 24 shall have one delegate each.
- 25 The counties of Brooke, Hancock, Marshall, Mingo,
- 26 Putnam, Wayne and Wyoming shall have two delegates
- 27 each.
- 28 The counties of Fayette, Logan, Marion, McDowell and
- 29 Monongalia shall have three delegates each.
- 30 The counties of Harrison, Mercer, Ohio and Raleigh
- 31 shall have four delegates each.
- 32 The county of Wood shall have five delegates.
- 33 The county of Cabell shall have six delegates.
- 34 The county of Kanawha shall have thirteen delegates.

§1-2-2a. Legislative findings.

- 1 The Legislature of West Virginia hereby finds and de-
- 2 clares that:
- 3 (1) The words "population, to be ascertained by the
- 4 census of the United States," as used and referred to in
- 5 the constitution of West Virginia in regard to apportion-
- 6 ment of the House of Delegates, include only bona fide

- 8 places of residence; the term does not include mere in-

residents of the state of West Virginia, counted at their

- 9 habitants of the state, temporarily located therein.
- 10 (2) The population census taken by the United States
- 11 bureau of the census for the year one thousand nine hun-
- 12 dred seventy counted mere inhabitants of the state as if
- 13 they were bona fide residents, and thus did not conform
- 14 to the provisions of the constitution of the state of West
- 15 Virginia in regard to apportionment of the House of Dele-
- 16 gates. Therefore, the one thousand nine hundred seventy
- 17 census of population was taken, in part, in a form not
- 18 contemplated by the pertinent provisions of the consti-
- 19 tution of West Virginia.
- 20 (3) For purposes of apportionment of the House of
- 21 Delegates, accurate population counts for the year one
- 22 thousand nine hundred seventy for the state and coun-
- 23 ties of West Virginia, based on official United States
- 24 census statistics, but excluding persons counted in this
- 25 state who were not bona fide residents of this state and
- 26 who were merely physically present in this state on the
- 27 first day of April, one thousand nine hundred seventy,

- 28 and including those bona fide residents of West Virginia
- 29 who were temporarily absent from this state on the first
- 30 day of April, one thousand nine hundred seventy, and
- 31 reallocating to their resident counties those bona fide
- 32 residents of West Virginia who were present in the state
- 33 of West Virginia on the first day of April, one thousand
- 34 nine hundred seventy, but were not counted by the United
- 35 States bureau of census as residents of their resident
- 36 counties, are as follows:
- 37 The county of Barbour, 13,339; the county of Berkeley,
- 38 37,042; the county of Boone, 25,428; the county of Braxton,
- 39 12,874; the county of Brooke, 29,394; the county of Cabell,
- 40 103,520; the county of Calhoun, 7,155; the county of Clay,
- 41 9,421; the county of Doddridge, 6,477; the county of Fay-
- 42 ette, 48,127; the county of Gilmer, 6,405; the county of
- 43 Grant, 8,766; the county of Greenbrier, 32,697; the county
- 44 of Hampshire, 11,895; the county of Hancock, 40,319; the
- 45 county of Hardy, 8,996; the county of Harrison, 73,334; the
- 46 county of Jackson, 21,310; the county of Jefferson, 20,207;
- 47 the county of Kanawha, 232,091; the county of Lewis,
- 48 18,147; the county of Lincoln, 19,094; the county of Logan,

46,885; the county of McDowell, 51,462; the county of 49 50 Marion, 59,943; the county of Marshall, 38,276; the county 51 of Mason, 24,587; the county of Mercer, 62,069; the county 52 of Mineral, 22,926; the county of Mingo, 33,171; the county of Monongalia, 51,888; the county of Monroe, 11,448; the 53 54 county of Morgan, 8,693; the county of Nicholas, 22,931; the county of Ohio, 62,493; the county of Pendleton, 7,159; 55 56 the county of Pleasants, 7,426; the county of Pocahontas, 9,031; the county of Preston, 25,864; the county of Putnam, 57 28,104; the county of Raleigh, 70,435; the county of Ran-58 dolph, 24,310; the county of Ritchie, 10,277; the county of 59 Roane, 14,301; the county of Summers, 13,428; the county 60 of Taylor, 14,080; the county of Tucker, 7,552; the county of 61 62 Tyler, 10,085; the county of Upshur, 17,749; the county of 63 Wayne, 38,199; the county of Webster, 9,954; the county of Wetzel, 20,732; the county of Wirt, 4,206; the county of 64 Wood, 88,063; the county of Wyoming, 30,617; the total population of the state of West Virginia, 1,734,382.

7 [Enr. Com. Sub. for H. B. No. 1

The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the foregoing bill is correctly enrolled.

Millell M. Bedel
Chairman Senate Committee
Charles Committee
Originated in the House.
Takes effect from passage.
Homen Mugees
Clerk of the Senate
C. a. Blankenshys
Clerk of the House of Delegates
The Court
President of the Senate
Lewis h. In Manne
Speaker House of Delegates
The within Approved this the 22 nd
day of Moremble , 1971.
Governor 7

PRESENTED TO THE GOVERNOR

Date 11/9/11
Time 1:10 p.m.